There are certain people in your life that one day come and go as guests. They don’t stay long yet leave you some sweet memories.

During my short time in Adelaide, I’ve met one. I’m not sure if he was the reason Adelaide in my memory is such a beautiful and peaceful place that I want to stay forever, but whenever I think of him, those memories makes me feel warm.

The city of Adelaide didn’t impress me much at first. Before traveling to South Australia, I had been to Melbourne and Sydney – the busiest cities in Australia and I still had that spirit in me, thus Adelaide appeared to be so quiet to me when I first arrive. There are not much buildings on the way from the airport to the city centre; instead, are many… trees and lands which made me feel like I was heading to a countryside. In fact, South Australia is a region of farming. It has a vast area of vineyards – this made the state the largest wine production region. I still remember the feeling of sitting in a beautiful garden, surrounding by trees and flowers, looking at the immense vineyard shining under the sun and enjoying good white wine (I personally prefer white wine). I was such a pleasant feeling, all my stress stayed behind. I was there, floating my mind in the clouds when he suddenly and gently asked,

“So, what do you think?”

“About what?”, I relied in a daze.

“About the wine, not about your future husband”, he laugh. His joke made me feel embarrassed because I’ve just told everybody at lunch that I was looking for my future husband. I could feel that my face was in red color. It was also because of the wine probably. I think I was a bit drunk….

If other cities wear a modern dress, Adelaide has its own antique appearance. Looks like it has a British soul. Buildings are of British styles and they look a bit old. It was not until I walked with him in the street that I realized the city has it own beauty, especially at night. It was after dinner and he walked 2 other friends and me back to the hotel. We didn’t talk much. I just walked with him and enjoy the city view at night. All I remember was the beautiful river shined with colorful lights from buildings, along which stood a line of tree that had the color of autumn, and he asked me if I would like a another shot of whiskey. Right now I suddenly wonder whether my image in his head is a girl that likes to drink a lot (?!?).

The day I left Adelaide, I knew I would miss it a lot. I would miss a smile in the sun, a gentle voice in the wind, would miss the feeling of walking behind someone’s back. I would miss the trees, the building and the wine.

I was a guest in his city and he was a guest in my life. I don’t know what I left in him, maybe nothing. But he gave me a beautiful memory. For that I still feel lucky. It is lucky to have such a good memories in life, isn’t it?

A beautiful view in Adelaide

— K. — 

8 thoughts on “Guests

    1. This is in response to The daily prompt πŸ˜€ To participate, just simply write your post, then copy the link of the daily prompt and add it to your post. You can also go to The Daily Prompt page, click Show instructions, copy it and paste to your post πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

